Escape from Asylum
Story / Atmosphere 4
Character Development 4
Accuracy 4
Originality 3
Scare Factor 4

n this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out—before he becomes the next..

Summary 3.8 Great
Story / Atmosphere 0
Character Development 0
Accuracy 0
Originality 0
Scare Factor 0
Summary rating from user's marks. You can set own marks for this article - just click on stars above and press "Accept".
Accept
Summary 0.0 Crap

Escape from Asylum

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out—before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden’s experiments. With the page-turning suspense and unsettling found photographs from real asylums that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum “a strong YA debut,” Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning, and Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn’t belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once. But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program, a program that the warden claims will not cure him but perfect him, he realizes that he may not be able to wait for his mom a second longer. With the help of a sympathetic nurse and a fellow patient, Ricky needs to escape now.

Set long before Dan, Abby, and Jordan walked the hallways of the Brookline asylum, when it was still a functioning psych ward and not a dorm, Escape from Asylum is a mind-bending and scary installment in the Asylum series that can stand on its own for new readers or provide missing puzzle pieces for series fans.

Escape from Asylum is a dark supernatural story about the goings-on in a mental hospital and what they do to patients. There’s an enjoyable spookiness in the main character seeing ghosts lingering all around and you’re made to feel that this is the exact same feeling you would get if you walked into actual closed down and abandoned asylum. The book is actually marked as a teen-type book but I’m very positive that you will completely love this book if you are an adult also. I highly recommend this book to others.

 

GrimMagazine.com - Escape from Asylum - Book Review
Title: Escape from Asylum
Author: Madeleine Roux
Published Date: June 14, 2016
Series: Asylum Series – prequel
Genre: Mystery, Suspense, Horror Fiction
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishing
Format: Hardcover, Kindle
Pages: 368 pages
Reviewed by: Kathryn Price
Our Rating: 3.8 /5

 

What did you think about this Book? Tell us below.
Or discuss it with us in our Horror Group!

*This post may contain affiliate links, meaning, if you click through and make a purchase or sign up for a program, Grim Magazine may earn a very small commission. This is at no additional cost to you. The small fee goes toward keeping our website free of advertisements and other product banners. It also helps in funding our contests and giveaways, and pay compensation to our content contributors for their reviews, articles, and stories. Please don’t hesitate to use our affiliate links!

 

Related posts

The Sun Down Motel (2020)

The Sun Down Motel (2020)

The secrets lurking in a rundown roadside motel ensnare a young woman, just as they did her aunt thirty-five years before in this new atmospheric suspense novel from the national bestselling and award

[Review] Pine (2020)

[Review] Pine (2020)

Set in a small village in the middle of the haunting Scottish Highlands, a strange disappearance of a mother has cast a shadow over the lives of the residents. Lauren, a 10-year-old girl, lives with her father Niall, a shadow of his former self who has spells of drunkenness and depression ever since his wife Christine disappeared. Lauren tries to find the clues that could lead to the mystery surrounding her mother’s conundrum and the healing of her family.

[Review] Imaginary Friend (2019)

[Review] Imaginary Friend (2019)

Single mother Kate Reese is on the run. Determined to improve life for her and her son, Christopher, she flees an abusive relationship in the middle of the night with her child. Together, they find

Leave a comment